Member Countries

JPI Climate members are countries – EU members or associated states – that have formally declared their commitment and willingness to actively contribute to JPI operations (with their work force, financial resources, and existing research and innovation investments, etc.) by signing a Letter of Intent. In order for a membership to be valid, a new member needs to be formally adopted by the Governing Board.

The member countries are represented by institutions that are legally allowed to take strategic decisions on behalf of and engage resources from national research funds (e.g. ministries for science and research, academy of sciences, scientific institutions and agencies) and thereby to represent the national research interests of the member countries.

Current members of JPI Climate

At present the JPI Climate has 19 Member countries:

Partners from  Greece, Portugal and Slovakia participate in activities in the framework of the "European Research Area for Climate Services" (ERA4CS).

Observer institutions are:

The European Commission is represented as a non‐voting member. It is in particular the Commission’s participation that facilitates the coordination between JP Climate, FP7, and the future Horizon 2020 research programme. So far, it is estimated that JPI Climate covers almost 90 % of the partners involved in FP7 climate research projects. 

The ERA-Net CIRCLE 2 was an observer institution of JPI Climate, but the activities of this organisation have ended in 2015.

Brazil, China, India, Japan and Qatar collaborate with JPI Climate in the framework of the Belmont Forum with the Call for Climate Services Collaborative Research action on Climate Predictability and Inter-regional Linkages.